LibGuides: OER &amp; Alternative Resources: NNMC Library Books

Library & Textbooks?

The Library does not own every textbook for every class. One option is to identify ebooks in the library's collection to substitute for required course textbooks. Check out library subscription databases that contain ebook material.

IF you select a book from EBSCO ebooks, be sure the bibliographic record includes Unlimited User Access. This will ensure all students can access the ebook simultaneously.

Consult the Permalink to Library Resources guide to link library resources in your course.

Library Databases w Ebook Content

EBSCO ebooks This link opens in a new window
Search any combination of the library's EBSCO ebooks.
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited. Fair use under U.S. Copyright law unless otherwise noted by publisher. Printing restrictions vary.
Concurrent Users: DRM varies; check individual titles
SAGE Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Search book collections on topics including business, criminology, education, science, health/social care, cultural studies, psychology, and sociology.
Vendor: SAGE
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching, and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited. Fair use under U.S. Copyright law unless otherwise noted by publisher.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
General Reference Center Gold This link opens in a new window
Provides access to magazines, newspapers, trade publications, and reference books covering current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
Vendor: GALE
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Contains reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and many leading history periodicals. Also includes historical documents, biographies, photos and maps, and video.
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited. Fair use under U.S. Copyright law unless otherwise noted by publisher.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Features author biographies, plot summaries, full-text essays, literary reference books and monographs, literary magazines and book reviews. It also offers poems, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and much more.
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited. Fair use under U.S. Copyright law unless otherwise noted by publisher.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues with viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites.
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Contains hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other reliable sources. Also includes more than 280,000 high-quality science images from sources such as UPI, Getty, NASA, National Geographic and the Nature Picture Library for a K-12 audience.
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited. Fair use under U.S. Copyright law unless otherwise noted by publisher.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Contains book chapters on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and how to create business plans.
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 2010-present
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited. Fair use under U.S. Copyright law unless otherwise noted by publisher.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited